Military Diet Review

Food is love. Love is Food. When you love food so much, that you just cannot stick to a healthy diet, but you want to shed some ‘flab’, the Military Diet is your go-to option.

Pizzas, burgers, pastries, chocolates. I love it all. I am not someone who can follow a diet. I always break my decision to eat healthy when I see something better on the plate next to mine. The reason I chose to give this a try is because my day would end with a cup of ice cream. I mean, seriously, what diet lets you eat ice cream?

Ideally, I have to lose 5 kgs to be in the “healthy” zone. With all the people claiming that they lost up to (5 pounds) 2.27 kgs  in 3 days, I thought to give this a try.
 
(I’m listing the food I consumed, along with the minor modifications and substitutions and that are permitted according to the plan.)

I had the diet-plan printed and kept reading it several times to actually believe that all this was diet food.

Preferably, keep a copy by your side while reading the rest of this post, for reference.

DAY 1 

Breakfast: 

1/2 Grapefruit
1 Slice of Bread
2 Tablespoons of Peanut Butter
1 Cup Coffee or Tea

I store my grapefruits in the fridge because I feel they taste even better when cold. Most people don’t have a ‘thing’ for grapefruit, but I absolutely love it. The coffee should be taken without milk or sugar. You could choose to toast your bread or have it as it is. I got rid of the crumbs as I’m not really a big fan.

Lunch: 

1 apple
3 ounces of any kind of meat (the size of a deck of cards)
1 cup of green beans

While my hubby was having lunch, I wasn’t hungry, but I wanted to eat. You know, just for the sake of it. So I pulled out my dinner basket. I basically swapped the items in my lunch and dinner baskets.

I had the apple while he was having lunch, and  the chicken, beans and coffee a while later.
(I baked the chicken and beans with some basic spices and salt)

Dinner
1/2 cup of tuna
1 slice of toast
1/2 banana
1 cup vanilla ice cream
 
That’s actually supposed to be for lunch, but it doesn’t really matter as long as you don’t eat anything off the list.
I sprinkled some salt and pepper over the tuna.

Day 1 went pretty well as the ice cream compensated for everything.

DAY 2:

Breakfast:
1 cup coffee
1 egg
1 slice of bread
1/2 banana
1/2 slice cheddar cheese

Borrowed half the cheddar cheese from lunch.

Dust some salt and pepper over the eggs and you are good to go.


Lunch:
2 sausages
1 cup broccoli
1/2 cup carrots
1/4 cup ice cream
1 plum

Substituted 1/2 banana with 2 plums in the dinner basket. Used 1 plum with half the ice cream from the basket.

Heated the sausages in a non-stick pan with no oil and steamed the veggies for lunch.

When you know you have ice cream waiting for you, you just can’t wait to get hold of it. So why wait till dinner when you are allowed to have your food at any time? Split the treat into two, and treat yourself twice.

Dinner:
1/2  slice cheddar cheese
5 saltine crackers
1/4 cup ice cream
1 plum

Did you notice? The food looks like its smiling at me. I’m pretty happy too.

Done with Day 2. Never knew diet food could taste so good. I don’t even feel like I’m on a diet.

DAY 3:

Breakfast:
1 apple
5 saltine crackers

As you may have noticed, the third day supplies much less calories than the previous days. Bear with it, for the results.

Lunch:

1 slice bread
1 whole egg
1 cup coffee
1 slice cheddar cheese

Coffee wasn’t on the list. But I had some only to suppress my hunger.

Dinner:

1 cup tuna
1/2 banana
1 cup vanilla ice cream

No energy to click pretty pictures. Totally drained. But I can feel it working. Like the fat stored in my body is being used to supply energy.

Review:

Day 1 & Day 2 went really well. I wasn’t even hungry. But Day 3 was exhausting. I felt like I had absolutely no energy, but I decided to push through. It did pay-off. I weighed myself the next morning, and was glad I weighed lesser. I lost only 1.5 kgs, but I feel much lighter and healthier. I had also measured myself before starting this, and I realized I had lost a few inches. I will definitely get back to this after the recommended 4 days off, where I can apparently eat anything I want, but in limited quantities.

P.S. After completing Day 3, I couldn’t control my hunger and decided to break it after 12, because technically, that would be the next day!

@Indian Summer, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.
Leave a Reply

